Though a private entity, France Muséums is unusual in that it has public sector shareholders, the largest of which is the Louvre Museum. This particular configuration—a private organisation with public backing—means that France Muséums is able to support all kinds of projects, whoever their initiators may be.


The passion shared by the developers of a cultural project must be accompanied by a highly rigorous approach. Rigour and passion are not mutually exclusive: on the contrary, they are complementary and mutually enriching.
Our job is to combine them in order to nurture ecosystems that highlight artistic accomplishments and make them accessible to the widest possible audience.”

Hervé Barbaret, CEO

A graduate of the ENA civil service college, Hervé Barbaret has occupied senior management posts in the French and international arts sector for over fifteen years. He has contributed to many high-profile French and international cultural projects as Deputy Director General of the Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine, General Administrator of Musée du Louvre, Director of the Mobilier National, Director of the Manufacture des Gobelins, the Manufacture de Beauvais and the Manufacture de la Savonnerie, and General Secretary of the French Ministry of Culture. Hervé Barbaret is actively involved in promoting and disseminating French museum expertise.


The France Muséums board brings together three qualified public figures and six public cultural organizations shareholders. Chaired by Sandra Lagumina, Senior Partner at Argos Wityu, it oversees the implementation of France Muséums’ activities, in particular France’s commitments to Louvre Abu Dhabi and the promotion of French museum expertise and know-how. The following personalities and representatives sit on the Board of Directors:

Six public heritage organisations associated with France Museums:

  • The musée du Louvre represented by its President-Director, Laurence des Cars
  • Réunion des musées nationaux -Grand Palais (RMN – GP) represented by its President, Didier Fusillier
  • The Centre Pompidou represented by its President, Laurent Le Bon
  • The Établissement public des musées d’Orsay et du musée de l’Orangerie – Valéry Giscard d’Estaing (EPMO) represented by its President, Christophe Leribault
  • The Bibliothèque nationale de France represented by its President, Laurence Engel
  • The musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac represented by its President, Emmanuel Kasarhérou

Three independent members:

  • Sandra Lagumina, Senior Partner at Argos Wityu
  • Yves Saint-Geours, President of the French National Commission at UNESCO
  • Christian Giacomotto, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Gimar Finance

Two censors:

  • Christelle Creffe, Head of the French Museum Service, Deputy Director-General for Heritage and Architecture of the Ministry of Culture
  • Valérie Brisset, Deputy Director for Culture and Soft Diplomacy at the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs

Scientific Council

The Scientific Council of France Muséums is chaired by Laurence des Cars, President-Director of the musée du Louvre. It is a consultative body which supports the development and the monitoring of the curatorial and cultural projects of France Muséums. The Scientific Council brings together the following members :

  • Emmanuel Kasarhérou, President of Musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac
  • Laurent Le Bon, President of Centre national d’art et de Culture Georges Pompidou
  • Christophe Leribault, President of Établissement public des musées d’Orsay et du musée de l’Orangerie – Valéry Giscard d’Estaing (EPMO)
  • Amélie Simier, Director of musée Rodin
  • Laurence Engel, President of Bibliothèque nationale de France (BNF)
  • Olivier Gabet, Director of the Department of Art at musée du Louvre
  • Sébastien Allard, Director of the Paintings Department at musée du Louvre
  • Yannick Lintz, President of musée national des Arts asiatiques – Guimet